Laaadeedaaa

We spent the weekend in Slovakia. There was another family gathering, lots of yummy food and wine. Got my nails done, eaten peaches, learned to make pickles… We went for a short walk in the forest with the parents and I was attacked by TICKS, for the first time in my entire life! I was in my favourite Columbia Titanium short pants and we didn’t expect to walk in the bushes. I’ve scratches from the grass and plants with thorns and mosquito bites. The ticks can be removed from the skin easily using a pair of tweezers by turning it anti-clockwise. These creatures are tiny but they can make big damage – causing tick-borne diseases. I’ve had my 3rd vaccination in May which will last for 3 years.

It’s the mushrooms season, you see them everywhere. We found a couple of those good ones in the forest. These ones caught my eyes. I’ve never seen them before. Aren’t they cute? 

We spent our Saturday morning in the garden, plucking fruits from the trees. We went to M’s uncle’s garden to pluck some of his raspberries. They’re so yummy, big, juicy and sweet – better than those you get from the supermarket. 

I’m teaching M Mandarin everyday. He’s a really fast learner. Sometimes he even makes up some really stupid sentences like 鸭子有牙齿吗?(Do ducks have teeth?) I taught him 猫妈 (mother cat) – high level tone and he asked I meant – Is that a cat? (猫吗?) which makes sense to me because he still can’t differentiate between the high level and neutral tone 妈 (mother – high level) and 吗 (question particle – neutral). It took my mom years to understand Mandarin. We speak English at home so M doesn’t need Mandarin to communicate with my family. My cousin asked me jokingly if I still speak/understand Mandarin 🙂 She was surprised that my Mandarin’s still as good as she remembers. And…. I learned a lot of new words from Li (♥ ♥ ♥ ) and those Taiwanese dramas on YouTube.

~ by A on July 30, 2008.

3 Responses to “Laaadeedaaa”

  1. aww… a nice write-up. You are so fortunate/blessed to be able to travel around the world.

  2. wow…I have never seen red mushroom before.

  3. Jane: I never knew I get to travel so much! 🙂

    金燕子: It’s my first time too! 😀

Leave a Reply

 
