Sunday

I spent hours trying to make Char Siu Bao (BBQ pork buns). It’s my first attempt and I’m pretty happy with the result. Thanks The Waitakere Redneck’s Kitchen for the recipe. I made around 14 of them and only 8 left now! I’ve just finished eating the 4th one. DIY special Chinese food is very important here because there’s no way I could find them in Prague. There’s nothing like Yum Char here. *sighs*

It’s HARD to look for baking ingredients here because my Czech language skill is really bad and they have different ingredients for baking. I’ve some lard at home but I prefer using vegetable shortening. I managed to find it at the supermarket, called Bob for translation (Yes, I can read Czech but I barely speak the language). I was at the aisle looking for bread flour, there are so many kinds and I didn’t know which one was the right one. 

Marks & Spencer seems to be the only place I could find most of the baking/cooking ingredients I need without worries because they’re in ENGLISH. Most of the baking ingredients are bio meaning they’re twice more expensive than the normal ones. Anyway, in the end, I picked up these bowls because they’re on sale – 2,50€ each after 50% discount!

I was surprised to find out the lady working in the beauty salon next to my block speaks good English. I managed to book her for facial tomorrow at 7:30am! It’s hard to make an appointment with her because she’s always fully-booked. I hope she’s really as good as I was told.

~ by A on August 3, 2008.

2 Responses to “Sunday”

  1. wow..wow…why you are so such competent! after I read your artcle, you always make me felt blushes with shame each time ~ sigh;-)
    I already got married for so long but I am still not good with all kitchen’s stuff;-(
    hehee….is there anything you don’t know ???
    your boy friend is one of lucky man in the world !

  2. 燕子姐,你夸奖了!:) There are still a lot of things I’d like to learn.

Leave a Reply

 
