Christmas Baking

Blogging from Slovakia and listening to Christmas songs! We left Prague before noon today and arrived around 3ish. I’m still feeling very tired. After lunch which was my first meal of the day, I took a nap. Woke up around 8:30am this morning to get all the cookies done. I was so tired last night and cut myself while cleaning the cookies cutters without even knowing that until I saw blood everywhere! The cut was not that deep and it stopped bleeding after a few mins.

I love baking but have never really baked for Christmas. I did a few times when I was in Finland – I miss the Finnish ginger bread so much! It has to be one of my most favourite thing after rich fruitcakes (which I used to hate a lot when I was a kid). I baked a few trays of these cookies. There are other shapes like flowers, stars and snowmen but these ones are my favourites, the Christmas tree! M helped decorating the cookies but after a few mins, he left the kitchen!

Christmas Baking

I used the same recipe for these ones I baked a few weeks ago. I changed the recipe and they’re very easy to make.

Cookies

I  stayed up till 1am last night, finished baking the rich fruitcakes which took me almost 2 1/2 hours. I had a ‘trial baking’ last weekend and it turned out better than my expectation. I really like the scent of the mixed spice. I used rum instead of rum extract this time and it tastes slightly different.

Rich Fruitcakes

I’m off to bed soon after I’ve some food. I know it’s so unhealthy to eat before midnight but I’m always hungry here because there is always good food in the kitchen! M’s mom is always feeding me good. I’ve been thinking of the potato salad on the way here. I didn’t like it that much when I first tried it years ago but M’s aunty makes the world’s best potato salad! I already had fish soup for lunch today. Yummy. I wonder how many kg I’m going to put on this time. Speaking of weight, I was telling M that I was so afraid to fit into my ski pants after a long time because I’ve probably put on weight. I took them out after our last ski trip in early March this year, tried them on, hoping I don’t need to buy a new pairs but guess what? I lost weight!

There are plenty of things to do tomorrow like decorating the Christmas tree! It’s in the garden and we haven’t seen it yet. I love the real trees, they smell so good.

~ by A on December 23, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
