Tom Yum Kai

I fell in love with Thai food about 12 years ago when my family went for a 2-week vacation in Thailand. I worked part-time at a Thai fine dining restaurant in Australia during my last year of uni. That’s where I learned to cook Thai food. I’ve a couple of friends who are Thais and are really good in cooking. My all time favourite is Tom Yum Kai (hot and sour chicken soup). When I’m lazy, I’ll just have it with steamed jasmine rice.

 Tom Yum Kai

Making Tom Yum Kai is very simple! Here’s how I normally prepare the soup.

Ingredients
250g Chicken (sliced)
1 1/2 tbsp Tom Yum Paste (I like the ones from Cock Brand, they’re the best)
1 tsp Fish sauce (Get the Squid brand if you can)
1 tsp Coriander leaves (chopped, optional)
2-3 Kaffir lime leaves (sliced)
1 stalk fresh lemongrass (optional)
1 carrot (cut)
1 small brown onion (halved)
A handful of white button mushrooms (halved)

Preparation
1. Fill 1/2 of the pot with cold water, bring to boil over medium heat. Place the Tom Yum paste in the pot when the water starts boiling. Let it boil for 3-5mins, add in the chicken, Kaffir lime leaves, fresh lemongrass and boil for another 5mins. Finally add the cut carrot, onion and mushroom, fish sauce and cook slowly uncovered for 10mins. Remove from heat. Garnished with Coriander leaves and serve.

~ by A on January 17, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
